Last night I got charlie horses in both of my legs. I haven’t had a charlie horse at all in quite a while, so it was weird and painful. I am still walking funny.

Yesterday I played the Stupid American part and wore shorts and a tank top while it was about 75 and raining/pouring all day.
This all during my Archeology class where we went on a little walking tour of the Theater Marcello, Temple of Apollo, The Obomono something or other, another large temple in the Jewish ghetto, and the church San Nicolas in Carcere. Every one of them was outside except for part of the chuch tour where we got to go under ground and see the temple ruins the church was built on.

However, I toughed it out and guess what…everything looks more Roman and gorgeous when it’s rainy and wet. True. Story.

Temple of Hercules, one of his only temples that is round

Temple of Hercules, one of his only temples that is round

There have been several times where I felt as if I was going to get myself hit by a car, but now I’ve realized how the Roman drivers work. I have seen one crash the whole time I’ve been here, and with the way the Romans drive, it’s amazing that I’ve only seen one. It really is all about trusting that the other people on the road. While they are in a hurry, if something gets in their way, they aren’t going to keep on going and hit you, they are very aware drivers and know the size of their cars and the size of almost all the other cars so they know where to go and where to fit. So as a pedestrian on the road you really have to just watch, and know when there will be just enough time to cross, and then just cross with a purpose and there won’t be any hostility involved.

While I’m still working with the language barrier, Rome is still just pulling me deeper. There is so much in this city that is not about buying stuff or being seen, it’s refreshing. They say, do as the Romans do, they just live and enjoy every bite of life they have. I could definitely come back here for an extended period of time.

This is the view from my 3rd, really 4th, floor class.

This is the view from my 3rd, really 4th, floor class.

