To make up for not posting for a week here is an incredibly long post with a ton of pictures.

Last week was very busy, which is why I didn’t post. Also there was some roommate issues (not really with me, but it still affected me) so I was trying as much as possible to stay in my room and just study or go out on my own. I had both midterms, one on Tuesday and the other on Thursday. I didn’t do too bad; I got a B on my Archeology (will be doing extra credit) and an A on my Nationalism and Ethnicity class which was very surprising.

Thursday night I went out on my own in search of good beer. I made my way to this bar called 4:20 which I heard about from some classmates. It really was fantastic. I felt a little awkward being on my own there, but I needed to get away from the roommate situation and this place was the perfect distraction. I wrote some postcards, chilled, and enjoyed the beer. There are about 17 different beers on tap, all from around Europe and all fantastic. I started with a Belgian beer, light in color, I didn’t get the name of it, but it was smooth. It sounds like I’m describing Coors Light or some lame American corporate beer, but it wasn’t “light and smooth” like that, it was lighter in color but still a rich golden color and completely full of flavor but without too much bite so it went down easy. I loved it. Second, I had one from the Netherlands, I believe it was a kind of stout from the Molen brewery, though I’m not positive. It was like drinking a chocolate and espresso flavored drink, hardly even beer-y at all. Absolutely fantastic with a great creamy head of foam. After those two, I had their panna cotta with malt caramel…soo delicious. The staff treated me nice and gave me extra caramel, I think because I looked so alone, haha. After I walked home to do some reading for class.

Friday, Saturday, and Sunday were fantastic.
We drove to Sorrento on Friday, a beautiful drive through the farm country with great views of Rome and then Naples, and all the coastal towns through to Sorrento. We were about to fall off the mountain sides in those huge charter buses, but that would be a great way to go with that view and into that beautiful blue sea!

Once we got there we went straight for the beach and spent the afternoon swimming and lying out on rocks like sea lions.

We had dinner at a nice place where we had the usual serenade of an accordian player and another of an american opera singer. Both were beautiful additions to the atmosphere. I had orrichette with broccoli rabe and sausage, although I think they used spinach…it was still great though. I also shared a bottle of Rose with one my hotel roommates. A glass ended up spilling on me, but it was okay, Sorrento has warm sea breezes, so it didn’t feel too terrible 😀

The next day we left for Capri in the morning on Ferry. We got to the island and immediately got on a boat tour list. We were scammed a little, but didn’t pay much so it wasn’t bad. We payed 10 Euro for a 2 hour trip on a boat with almost 40 people. But we got the perimeter of the boat with great views, lounging, and the wine was flowing so we didn’t have much to whine about. I got some beautiful pictures with the Polaroid. Also with my digital camera, but my camera broke that evening. I can’t turn it on for more than a second. I will try to scan some Polaroids tomorrow at school. After the boat tour we spent time on the beach and in the crystal blue water. I got a gelato and walked around the lower part of the town and bought a few souvenirs. We ferried back to Sorrento for the evening and after some ice cold showers and a very long walk through some winding streets, ended up on the fisherman’s wharf area where we had dinner. I had the grilled swordfish, and it was amazing. Some other girls had the grilled bree (is that the name of the fish?) which was even better, it came whole and they made a show of taking out the fillets and edible parts. I also got to try my first mussel, not what I was expecting, but not bad at all. We were given complimentary Limoncello, but I was disappointed. It was complimentary for a reason and not even mildly smooth, like my first batch of the stuff, it bit your throat like a snake. Sadly, I didn’t get to buy any of the good stuff because I ended up with no money after dinner, so I’m going to try to find some here in Rome, but we will see…

Later we went to a “Disco Bar Lounge” which was actually kind of lame, but still an interesting experience. There was Red Shirt Guy with a big belly that had some decent moves and a very open attitude. He was killing that floor, the kind of thing you enjoy seeing once, but never want to see again. After his big show, I walked around and apparently attracted the eye of quite the slimy Italian guy with a sweater over his shoulders as if he was about to go yachting. After I sat down he first rudely stared me down and then sat next to me and tried to get me to not have a boyfriend, “for tonight.” It was amusing, if nothing else, and I right out told him I wasn’t interested and was actually quite boring and lame by his standards and didn’t even really want to be there, I just wanted to go to sleep. Still, he “would be waiting on the dance floor” if I wanted…hahaha. I made it out of there within the next ten minutes and made my way back to the apartment and to blessed sleep because I was quite exhausted from the day.

The next morning we took off for Pompeii with lots of sun burnt skin and sleepy people. Pompeii wasn’t what I was expecting at all. The tour guide was eccentric and cool, but thought in Greek and so couldn’t create a full thought in English. It ended up being incredibly hot, with the tour from noon till almost 2, so right when the sun was over-head and there were no covers for shade at all. My burn hurts right now just thinking about it. Also we only got to see a few of the “dead people” (as some girls from our group put it) and only the murals in the brothel (which were pretty interesting) and none that were in really fantastic condition like the ones I’ve seen here in Rome from Augustus’ wife and daughter’s homes, those were amazing. Then when the tour was over I didn’t have any money to buy food and the bancomats were empty. Sweet. I only had enough for an orange juice and sneaked a glass of water from our group leaders. Basically, I was burned, smelly, sticky, hot, and hungry by the end of our time there and just ready to fall asleep on the bus. That’s about it for now.

Here are some pictures from Florence from the weekend before. I didn’t get any in Arezzo because it was raining so much and I think I was out of batteries or something. I will try to get the pictures off my camera from last week and this weekend, but no promises. It only will turn on, open the lens for a split-second, and then pull it back in and turn back off right away, new batteries and everything…

Palazzo Vecchio where civil weddings are given in a red velvet room.

Palazzo Vecchio where civil weddings are given in a red velvet room.

Statue of someone important...one of the Medici or an emperor...Lorenzo?

Statue of someone important...one of the Medici or an emperor...Lorenzo?

Organic Market with Florence specialty wines, oil, and cheese and some veggies

Organic Market with Florence specialty wines, oil, and cheese and some veggies

Florentine Carousel

Florentine Carousel

The Bronze Boar, if you rub its nose you will come back to Florence, if you put a penny in its mouth and it lands in the grate below, your wish comes true

The Bronze Boar, if you rub it's nose you will come back to Florence, if you put a penny in it's mouth and it lands in the grate below, your wish comes true

The Arno and a bust on the bridge of the gold craftsmen

The Arno and a bust on the bridge of the gold craftsmen

June Wedding in Florence...sigh

June Wedding in Florence...sigh

A better picture of The Arno

A better picture of The Arno

The Rape of the Sabine Woman by the Roman Men. Not actually sexual, wiki it.

The Rape of the Sabine Woman by the Roman Men. Not actually sexual, wiki it.

Some fun Graffiti

Some fun Graffiti

The Duomo

The Duomo

Santa Maria in Croce, late by 5 minutes...

Santa Maria in Croce, late by 5 minutes...

Inspiration for Rocky Horror? Also, my hair is funny.

Inspiration for Rocky Horror? Also, my hair is funny.

Another Florentine Wedding...sigh...

Another Florentine Wedding...sigh...

More Florentine Graffiti, see the Polaroid?!

More Florentine Graffiti, see the Polaroid?!

Pretty Statue of Pinocchio, I believe.

Pretty Statue, of Pinocchio, I believe.

The David Copy...still beautiful.

The David Copy...still beautiful.

Benvenuto Cellinis Perseus, our tour guide said its the only statue comparable to David.

Benvenuto Cellini's Perseus, our tour guide said it's the only statue comparable to David.

Here are some pictures from the night before we left for Florence…some friends and I went in search of a Jazz club that ended up being closed for technical difficulties. Instead we went to this Osteria, had some foodsies, some wine, and walked around and it was still great.

Blurry friends and me at Osteria, the clear version didnt load...

Blurry friends and me at Osteria, the clear version didn't load...

Delicious food from the night before Florence, olives, bruschetta, and zucchini flowers

Delicious food from the night before Florence, olives, bruschetta, and zucchini flowers

Fontana di Trevi at night...gorgeous

Fontana di Trevi at night...gorgeous

Straining to get a good picture of me and the fountain.

Straining to get a good picture of me and the fountain.

