Today was exam two, also a 96 1/2 score. I think the highest in the class along with another guy. My partner didn’t show up, I’m really enjoying her as a person, even if it takes an effort for her to get her wits about her. I hope she moves on with us through to the next course.

We started on our week of stocks and sauces known as the fond de cuisine or foundation of cookery. Beginning with white stock (a chicken one) and brown stock (a roasted veal one) and one of each of a white, a blonde, and a brown roux. My temporary partner’s main job was getting the bones and he got there late and had to chisel out 8 lbs of chicken bones and 8 lbs of veal bones from their respective frozen blocks…with my honing steel (the thing used to quickly sharpen knives). I offered it, chef recommended using them to help get the bones apart, so I shouldn’t be upset, but it got really discolored and wouldn’t wash up nicely. I think I might ask the guy if I can take his because he doesn’t seem to be the kind of guy who cares about looks anyways, we will see…

The stocks came out okay, we had to undercook the chicken stock for only 2 hours instead of 4 and the beef stock is overcooking overnight. We only have 3 hours in the kitchen total so we couldn’t leave the stocks on our stations until they were ready. My roux’s were hard to get right, I felt like the white one and the blonde one were about the same in color, but the blonde one was distinctly more cooked and smelled toasty. I’m going to have to work on them to get to know the different in cooking time and smells since I can’t seem to rely on my eyes. (p.s. a roux is a cooked mixture of flour and fat used to thicken soups and sauces, different colored ones are used for different applications)

I’m gonna get some research done on oils for that group presentation for class, bake some banana bread, and then sleep. Things are going really good.

